Blue Frame Photography

memories. in. print.

Sarah and DC November 15, 2009

Filed under: Engagements — blueframephotography @ 3:21 pm

This is probably going to end up being a very long post. But don’t worry. I’ll be sure to post pictures as well.

I’m not sure if he knows it or not, but DC was an integral part of how I came to be interested in photography.  Let’s back up a few years, shall we?

When I got married, I really didn’t like my photographer much. I mean, he was okay, but he didn’t really deliver the shots I had wanted. Look back though, most of it was my fault. I didn’t do my homework. I just picked someone who was a friend’s friend’s father, who had like 30 years of experience. I mean, the shots are perfectly exposed and all that, but they were more traditional than I had wanted.  Plus, he was a little annoying to work with, and don’t get me started on his wife.

H’anyway, when I got my pictures back I was … disappointed to say the least. I remember thinking, ‘you know, I should get into this business and give it a shot (no pun intended).’  At the time, I thought ‘yeah right, like that’s going to happen.’  Fast forward about a year and a half.   DC had been promoted to full-time photographer at the paper we all worked for, and had persuaded the company to purchase two DSLRs to replace the two six-year-old point-and-shoots held together by duct tape.  (seriously. They were held together by duct tape)  And that was my first encounter with Nikon.

And that’s when I remembered my thought about going into this industry. So, I borrowed one of the new cameras and took a few of our friends (who were getting married) to Lake J for an engagement session. I was hooked. I loved doing the shoot, I loved the post processing, I loved everything.  And I haven’t looked back.  It’s kind of funny looking back at that photo shoot and see how far I’ve come. But I also know how far I have left to go.  Literally, with each photo shoot, we get a little better, and I’m just so excited to see what our future holds in the industry.

H’anyway. Yesterday, we got to hang out with Sarah and DC and do their engagement photos. I can’t even begin to tell you how intimidated I was.  DC has so much knowledge with photography and I…. well, I’ve only be teaching myself for a little over a year. So, while I’ve learned alot just by reading blogs and books, I know my little scale of knowledge doesn’t even begin to match to his.  But DC and Sarah are such good people, I was really able to just have fun with them. And I think they had fun, too.

SD001watermark

We started at the double decker cafe in Asheville.  The stairway was tiny, but I think it made for a good shot 🙂

SD002watermark

I looooooove this shot — it’s both playful, fun and a little hot.  haha!

SD003watermark

This musician was a really good sport.  Not to mention, he was just a good musician.  🙂

SD004watermark

Yowsa! I told you they were a hot  couple!

And finally….

SD005watermark

I have a story to tell about my night photography experience, but I’m running late for church, so that’ll have to be for another post.

Thanks for such a great day yesterday!  I hope you enjoy this sneak peek 🙂

 

One Response to “Sarah and DC”

  1. Ginny Says:

    OMG! these are so good!!!! I can’t wait to see what my Matron of Honor dress will look like! 🙂 just kidding – as long as I get a Cousin of High Honor nod, i’m good 🙂


Leave a Reply

